Weekend loves: Blueberry Protein Pancakes

There are many things I enjoy about the weekend, but the best one would have to be time to cook a great meal. This beautiful Saturday morning I woke up bright and early, got my workout in, walked my dogs, fed the dogs (yes, they eat before me) and then started making breakfast (the best part). Today, I felt like kicking my regular breakfast shakes to the curb and decided to instead treat myself. That of course meant PANCAKES! — Protein pancakes that is! Of course they were just too delicious to not share with all of you!

Before we dive into the recipe, I want to quickly touch on the importance of eating clean when you can. This isn’t about losing weight or looking skinny; this is about your health today and your health tomorrow. And I’ll let you in on a little secret, the more conscious you are of what you put in your body, the more you’ll crave fresher and healthier foods. I promise. And if you’re like me, you’ll find some way to make delicious dishes into healthier dishes. So here’s my take on pancakes. Enjoy!

Blueberry Protein Pancakes 

Protein Pancakes
Image borrowed from woof-mag.com

Pancakes (makes 2):
1/3 cup of protein powder of your choice – (I use an organic, plant-based protein powder. Beware of soy-derived products.)
1/2 mashed banana or 1 tablespoon of pure almond butter – (pure meaning the only ingredient should be almonds.)
1/2 TBS of almond milk or coconut milk
1/4 cup of egg whites – (about two eggs)
1 tsp of cinnamon
1/4 cup of blueberries

Topping:
3-4 strawberries (or berry of choice)
1 TBS pure maple syrup

Recipe:
Mix protein powder, banana (or almond butter), almond milk, egg whites and cinnamon in a bowl. Add blueberries to the mixture. Heat your pan* on medium heat. (If you don’t have a non-stick skillet, I suggest using a stainless steel pan. Heat the pan first on low heat, THEN add oil. I like to use coconut oil. This will keep your pancakes from sticking too much.) Add half of the pancake batter in the pan and let cook about 1 minute on each side. Flip to other side with spatula. Flip more often if needed. Repeat for second cake.

For the topping, use a blender to blend your strawberries into a think mixture. Add maple syrup and continue to blend. Use as topping for pancakes, along with other fruits, such as blueberries and bananas.

Bon appétit!

*I recommend sticking to cookware that does not use non-stick surfaces (this includes most griddles), unless you follow the correct temperature protocol before non-stick turns “toxic”. It is recommended to keep your non-stick cookware under 500 degrees Fahrenheit. (Read more here: WebMD)

One thought on “Weekend loves: Blueberry Protein Pancakes

Leave a Reply

